Monday, March 28, 2011

Article: Gaga & Bieber Together At Last: “Songs for Japan” Charity Album Hits iTunes

Gaga & Bieber Together At Last: “Songs for Japan” Charity Album Hits iTunes

Mashable | The Social Media Guide

Welcome to Mashable!
Have an account? Sign in

Trending Stories

Gaga & Bieber Together At Last: “Songs for Japan” Charity Album Hits iTunes

 March 25, 2011 by Brian Anthony Hernandez

To help raise money for disaster relief efforts in Japan, Universal Music Group has assembled a who’s who of the music world for a benefit album called Songs for Japan, which hit iTunes Friday. It includes an exclusive remix of Lady Gaga’s latest chart-topping single, “Born This Way.”

The 38-track album [iTunes link] costs $9.99 and features popular tunes in original, remastered, live or acoustic formats from Bob Dylan, Bruce Springsteen, Justin Bieber, Eminem, Katy Perry and other superstars (see full list below).

Worldwide proceeds from album downloads will go to the Japanese Red Cross Society to provide immediate assistance to people affected by the March 11 Tōhoku earthquake and tsunami in Japan. The participating artists, their labels and music publishers waived their royalties, meaning every cent from each album download helps survivors.

This global initiative — one of the many new ways people can help Japan — is akin to the star-studded fundraising efforts following the destructive 2010 earthquake in Haiti when celebrities joined forces for a telethon and a new “We Are The World” charity single.

What do you think of the Songs for Japan lineup? Let us know in the comments.

Track listing

  • John Lennon — “Imagine” (Remastered)
  • U2 — “Walk On”
  • Bob Dylan — “Shelter From The Storm”
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers — “Around The World” (Live)
  • Lady Gaga — “Born This Way” (Starsmith remix)
  • Beyonce — “Irreplaceable”
  • Bruno Mars — “Talking To The Moon” (Acoustic piano version)
  • Katy Perry — “Firework”
  • Rihanna — “Only Girl (In The World)”
  • Justin Timberlake — “Like I Love You”
  • Madonna — “Miles Away” (Live)
  • David Guetta featuring Kelly Rowland — “When Love Takes Over”
  • Eminem featuring Rihanna — “Love The Way You Lie” (Clean version)
  • Bruce Springsteen — “Human Touch”
  • Josh Groban — “Awake” (Live)
  • Keith Urban — “Better Life”
  • Black Eyed Peas — “One Tribe”
  • Pink — “Sober”
  • Cee Lo Green — “It’s Ok”
  • Lady Antebellum — “I Run To You”
  • Bon Jovi — “What Do You Got?”
  • Foo Fighters — “My Hero”
  • R.E.M. — “Man On The Moon” (Live)
  • Nicki Minaj — “Save Me” (Clean version)
  • Sade — “By Your Side”
  • Michael Buble — “Hold On”
  • Justin Bieber — “Pray” (Acoustic)
  • Adele — “Make You Feel My Love”
  • Enya — “If I Could Be Where You Are”
  • Elton John — “Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me”
  • John Mayer — “Waiting On The World To Change”
  • Queen — “Teo Torriatte (Let Us Cling Together)” (Remastered)
  • Kings Of Leon — “Use Somebody”
  • Sting — “Fragile” (Live)
  • Leona Lewis — “Better In Time”
  • Ne-Yo — “One In A Million”
  • Shakira — “Whenever, Wherever”
  • Norah Jones — “Sunrise”
Topics to follow
For more Social Good coverage

More Stories in Social Good

Top Related Stories

About Mashable

Founded in 2005, Mashable is the top source for news in social and digital media, technology and web culture. With more than 40 million monthly pageviews, Mashable is the most prolific news site reporting breaking web news, providing analysis of trends, reviewing new Web sites and services, and offering social media resources and guides.

©2005-2011 Mashable, Inc.
Reproduction without explicit permission is prohibited. All Rights Reserved.

No comments:

Post a Comment